# Insurance Agent Client Gifts: What Agencies Send, and Your State's Gift Limit (Quoted From the Statute)

State anti-rebating laws cap what an insurance agent may give a client: $25 in New York and Texas, $100 a year in Florida, North Dakota and Washington, and $250 a year in North Carolina. Four of the six add up every gift to the same person over a period.

*We sell a $35 logo mug gift box, printed, packed and shipped to each person's address. This guide covers the other options too.*

**Key facts** (statute text read October 26, 2026; re-read where a section says so):

- **New York:** gifts "not exceeding twenty-five dollars in value" ([Ins. Law §2324(a)](https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ISC/2324); [§4224(c)](https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ISC/4224)).
- **Texas:** items "valued at $25 or less" ([Ins. Code §4005.053(d)](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_4005.053); the same words in [§541.058(b)(7)](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_541.058), [§1806.059](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.059), [§1806.1041](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.1041) and [§1806.1541](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.1541)).
- **Florida:** "$100 or less per insured or prospective insured in any calendar year" ([§626.9541(1)(m)1.a](http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0626/Sections/0626.9541.html)).
- **North Dakota and Washington:** $100 per person per year (Washington: any 12 months) ([NDCC §26.1-04-06(2)](https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t26-1c04.pdf); [Washington OIC](https://www.insurance.wa.gov/producers-adjusters/licensing-compliance-financial-examinations/rebating-and-illegal-inducements)).
- **North Carolina:** $250 per person per year; "two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) per policy term" for policies issued, renewed or amended from January 1, 2027 ([G.S. 58-63-16](https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_58/GS_58-63-16.html); [G.S. 58-63-15](https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_58/GS_58-63-15.html)).

> **Check your state before you choose a gift.** For every state not quoted here, check with your state's insurance department or your compliance officer first. Four of the six limits below add up every gift to the same person over a period (usually a year), so count what that client already got from you. This is information, not legal or tax advice. Check the current rule (or check with your state's insurance department or your compliance officer) before you send.

More trades in [client gifts by profession](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/professions); FINRA, RESPA and federal caps in [client gift limits by industry](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/gift-rules/client-gift-limits-by-industry).

## New York and Texas Cap Agent Gifts at $25. Florida, North Dakota and Washington Allow $100 a Year.

The six states we have read at the source:

| State | Stated limit | Period in the text | Conditions in the text |
|---|---|---|---|
| New York | $25 | Not stated | None in the quoted clause |
| Texas | $25 | Not stated | A promotional, educational item or "traditional courtesy" |
| Florida | $100 | Per insured or prospective insured, per calendar year | Gift cards and event tickets count inside the $100 |
| North Dakota | $100 | Per person, per year | Can't depend on a quote or a contract; no cash |
| Washington | $100 | Per person, any 12 months, all gifts added up | Offered to all clients in similar qualifying circumstances |
| North Carolina | $250 | Per person per year; per policy term for policies issued, renewed or amended from Jan 1, 2027 | From 2027: not unfairly discriminatory; no purchase or renewal required |

### New York: "not exceeding twenty-five dollars in value"

> "...which is not specified in such policy or contract, other than any valuable consideration, including but not limited to merchandise or periodical subscriptions, not exceeding twenty-five dollars in value..."
>
> [N.Y. Insurance Law §2324(a)](https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ISC/2324). The same $25 exception appears in [§4224(c)](https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ISC/4224), the life and accident and health section. Read October 26, 2026; §2324(a) re-read October 29, 2026.

### Texas: "valued at $25 or less"

> "...an item that is a promotional advertising item, educational item, or traditional courtesy commonly extended to consumers and that is valued at $25 or less."
>
> [Tex. Ins. Code §4005.053(d)](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_4005.053) (agents, "in connection with an offer or sale of an insurance policy or contract"). The same words appear in [§541.058(b)(7)](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_541.058) (life, accident and health, and annuities), [§1806.059](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.059) (auto insurers), [§1806.1041](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.1041) (casualty, fidelity and surety) and [§1806.1541](https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.1541) (fire insurance on property). Read October 26, 2026 on Texas.Public.Law, which last checked the official text on May 26, 2025.

### Florida: "$100 or less per insured or prospective insured in any calendar year"

> "a. Giving to insureds, prospective insureds, or others any article of merchandise, goods, wares, store gift cards, gift certificates, event tickets, anti-fraud or loss mitigation services, or other items having a total value of $100 or less per insured or prospective insured in any calendar year."
>
> [Fla. Stat. §626.9541(1)(m)1.a](http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0626/Sections/0626.9541.html), 2026 Florida Statutes. Read October 29, 2026.

### North Dakota: "one hundred dollars per person per year"

> "…if the cost does not exceed an aggregate retail value of one hundred dollars per person per year, an insurance producer may give a gift, prize, promotional article, logo merchandise, meal, or entertainment activity directly or indirectly to a person in connection with marketing, promoting, or advertising the business. … An insurance producer may not condition the giving of a gift, prize, promotional article, logo merchandise, meal, or entertainment activity on obtaining a quote or a contract of insurance."
>
> [N.D.C.C. §26.1-04-06(2)](https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t26-1c04.pdf), which covers insurance producers generally. The rebate subsection for life, annuity, and accident and health contracts, §26.1-04-03(8), has a nearly identical clause. Read October 29, 2026.

### Washington: "$100 in value in the aggregate per person in any 12-month period"

> "Insurers and insurance producers may implement advertising or promotional programs that permit the giving of prizes, goods, wares, gift cards, gift certificates or merchandise not exceeding $100 in value in the aggregate per person in any 12-month period. The advertising or promotional program must be offered to all insureds or prospective insureds under similar qualifying circumstances."
>
> [Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner](https://www.insurance.wa.gov/producers-adjusters/licensing-compliance-financial-examinations/rebating-and-illegal-inducements), citing RCW 48.30.140 and RCW 48.30.150. Read October 29, 2026.

The statute itself, [RCW 48.30.150(1)(c)](https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=48.30.150), bars items "of an aggregate value in excess of one hundred dollars per person in the aggregate in any consecutive twelve-month period" (read October 29, 2026).

### North Carolina: $250 a year now, "per policy term" for policies from January 1, 2027

> "(1) The products or services are offered in connection with the marketing, purchase, or retention of an insurance contract and do not exceed an aggregate retail value of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) per person per year."
>
> [G.S. 58-63-16(a)](https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_58/GS_58-63-16.html), marked "Repealed effective January 1, 2027". Read October 29, 2026.

From January 1, 2027, [G.S. 58-63-15(8)](https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_58/GS_58-63-15.html) requires, among other things, that the cost not exceed "two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) per policy term", that the gift be made "in a manner that is not unfairly discriminatory", and that "The customer is not required to purchase, continue to purchase, or renew a policy in exchange for the offer or gift." The new text applies "to trade practices related to insurance contracts issued, renewed, or amended on or after" January 1, 2027 ([S.L. 2025-97, §6.11](https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/SessionLaws/HTML/2025-2026/SL2025-97.html)).

This is information, not legal or tax advice. Check the current rule (or check with your state's insurance department or your compliance officer) before you send.

## What Does the Model Law Say? Not Unfairly Discriminatory, and No Purchase Required

The NAIC's Unfair Trade Practices Act (Model 880) is the template states can adopt. Its gift clause:

> "Offer or give non-cash gifts, items, or services… as long as the cost does not exceed an amount determined to be reasonable by the commissioner per policy year per term. The offer must be made in a manner that is not unfairly discriminatory. The customer may not be required to purchase, continue to purchase or renew a policy in exchange"
>
> [NAIC Model 880 §4I(2)(f)(i)](https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/model-law-880.pdf) (Spring 2024 printing). Drafting Note: "the lesser of 5% of the current or projected policyholder premium or $250". Read October 25, 2026.

A model law does nothing until a state adopts its own version. Across the six states above, three tests recur: **an amount** (often added up per person per year), **the same offer for clients in the same situation**, and **no strings** to a purchase, renewal, quote or contract.

## Must the Gift Go to Every Client?

In Washington's text, the test is the same offer to every client in the same situation, not to every client. Its regulator's example: funeral flowers sent whenever a close family member of an insured dies, for insureds "with an annual premium totaling $5,000 or more." The regulator says this "appears to be offered to all insureds who fit the criteria" and "is permitted if the value of the floral arrangement", plus that client's other gifts in 12 months, "does not exceed $100".

Agents already tier their lists: one on r/InsuranceAgent wanted "good gifts (under $150)" and wrote, "We are only sending out to our top 20 clients" ([thread](https://www.reddit.com/r/InsuranceAgent/comments/z7rr20/)). Set that $150 beside the limits quoted above.

**Keep a record.** Washington tells producers to "implement record-keeping processes to be able to provide evidence that the $100 per-person limit for any consecutive 12-month period has not been exceeded."

## Can the Gift Reward a Referral or a New Policy?

One poster on r/InsuranceAgent asked: "can I do it based on only if said Refferal purchases a policy?" ([thread](https://www.reddit.com/r/InsuranceAgent/comments/1dpfq09/)).

North Dakota bars tying a gift to "obtaining a quote or a contract of insurance"; the NAIC model and North Carolina's 2027 text bar requiring a purchase or renewal. Referral rewards can also fall under separate state rules not quoted here. If yours rewards a referral or a sale, ask your state's insurance department first.

The tax side is a separate federal rule: see [are client gifts tax deductible? The IRS $25 rule](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/gift-rules/are-client-gifts-tax-deductible).

This is information, not legal or tax advice. Check the current rule (or check with your state's insurance department or your compliance officer) before you send.

## What Do Insurance Agents Send Clients, and When?

Four occasions and their catch:

| Occasion | When | Watch for |
|---|---|---|
| Holiday thank-you | Ship by mid-December; USPS recommends Ground Advantage by Thu Dec 17 for Christmas delivery in the lower 48 ([USPS](https://www.usps.com/holiday/holiday-shipping-dates.htm)) | Same gift for everyone in the group you choose |
| Client birthday | Year-round | In FL, ND, WA and NC it adds to the same running total as the holiday gift (per year, any 12 months or, in NC from 2027, per policy term) |
| Policy anniversary | Year-round | Send it whether or not they renew (NAIC: no renewal "in exchange") |
| New prospect or quote | Year-round | FL, ND and WA count prospects too; ND bars tying a gift to a quote |

Card wording: [holiday card messages for clients](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/card-messages/holiday-messages-for-clients). Securities-licensed too? See [financial advisor client gifts](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/professions/financial-advisor-client-gifts).

## Can an Agency Pack and Ship Client Gifts Itself?

Yes: an agency can assemble and ship client gift boxes itself, and by our estimate 25 logo mug gift boxes take about 9 hours of hands-on work (about 3½ of them packing, at about 8 minutes a box), plus a week or more waiting for supplies from about 8 separate orders. Per box, it comes out about even: about $38 with USPS counter postage and about $34 with commercial postage, with $1,192.84 paid up front for the mugs, the retail supply packs and 25 postage labels ([our DIY cost comparison](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/compare/diy-mug-gift-box-vs-ordering), prices as of Oct 29, 2026).

A mug packed without a foam collar can break at the handle and must be bought, packed and shipped again, and a stale address sends a box away and back. With Personalized Gifts Delivered, you upload a logo, write one message and add one list. We print, pack and ship each box to its own address.

## What to Know Before You Order

- **One price per box.** Each box is $35, delivered, with no sales tax added at checkout. The state limits are quoted above from their statutes. The shipping spreadsheet lists that figure against each client's name and ship date, so it's on file for any annual total you keep.
- **Where we ship.** The lower 48 states and Washington, DC, except Texas for now; no Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, APO/FPO or international. The order page flags any row we can't ship to, so you can fix it or take it out.
- **The treats.** LINDOR truffles contain milk, soy and barley malt (gluten); read the labels. Every box holds the same treats.
- **One card message per order,** greeting each client by first name. A different message for one group is an order of its own, and one box is a complete order.

## Where Personalized Gifts Delivered Fits for an Agency's Policyholders

A holiday thank-you to a group of policyholders, each at their own address, with a record you can file:

- **The same gift for the whole group.** One order sends every client on the list the same box: your logo printed small on an 11 oz white ceramic mug, Ghirardelli premium hot cocoa and 4 Lindt LINDOR milk chocolate truffles, in a matte-black gift box with a magnetic lid.
- **A card that greets each client by first name,** printed with your message. You see every client's card before you pay.
- **Discreet at the door.** Each box travels in a plain white carton; the return address shows PersonalizedGiftsDelivered.com, and your agency's name appears only on the card inside.
- **An itemized record.** When the boxes ship, one email brings a spreadsheet of recipient, ship date, carrier, tracking number and $35 per box, ready for your compliance file. Start from our [client address spreadsheet template](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/how-it-works/client-address-spreadsheet-template).

Add your logo (or type your website and we'll find it), or a photo or a few words for a personal gift; check the preview of your mug and card; add your address list; and pay $35 per box. We print, pack and ship each box to its own address. We ship from New York. Ships within 2 business days of a complete order (your design, your address list and payment). Ships by USPS Ground Advantage or UPS Ground, with tracking, and usually arrives 2–5 business days after it ships. Delivery dates are carrier estimates, not guarantees, and run slower in mid-December. For Christmas delivery, order by Tuesday, December 15.

That is a [holiday gift box sent to each policyholder](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/custom-logo-mug-gift-box), with no minimum and nothing for your staff to pack. Policyholder list ready? [Start your order](https://personalizedgiftsdelivered.com/order): $35 per box, delivered.

## Frequently asked questions

### What is the gift limit for insurance agents in my state?

The state statutes quoted on this page set the insurance agent gift limit at $25 in New York and Texas, $100 in Florida, North Dakota and Washington, and $250 in North Carolina. Florida counts per calendar year, North Dakota per person per year, Washington over any 12 months, and North Carolina per person per year, or "per policy term" for policies issued, renewed or amended from January 1, 2027. For any other state, check with your state's insurance department.

### Can the gift depend on the client buying or renewing a policy?

The NAIC model law says "The customer may not be required to purchase, continue to purchase or renew a policy in exchange". North Dakota says "An insurance producer may not condition the giving of a gift… on obtaining a quote or a contract of insurance." Your state's own text is what counts.

### Do I have to send the same gift to every client?

Washington says a promotional program "must be offered to all insureds or prospective insureds under similar qualifying circumstances", and the NAIC model says the offer must not be "unfairly discriminatory". Washington's own example uses a written rule (an annual premium of $5,000 or more) to decide who qualifies.

### Do gift cards count toward the limit?

In Florida, North Dakota and Washington, yes: each text puts gift cards inside the same $100 limit. North Dakota's covers "a gift card for specific merchandise or services" but not "cash, a cash card, any form of currency".

### Who ships a gift to each policyholder with a record of what each one got?

Personalized Gifts Delivered ships a logo mug gift box to each policyholder's own address from one list, at $35 per box delivered, with no minimum. When the boxes ship, it emails one spreadsheet of recipient, ship date, carrier, tracking number and $35 per box, an itemized record for a compliance file.

### Are client gifts tax deductible for an insurance agency?

IRS Publication 463 says: "You can deduct no more than $25 for business gifts you give directly or indirectly to each person during your tax year." Ask your tax professional how it applies to you.

## Sources

1. NAIC, Unfair Trade Practices Act, Model 880 (Spring 2024 printing): https://content.naic.org/sites/default/files/model-law-880.pdf
2. New York Insurance Law §2324: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ISC/2324
3. New York Insurance Law §4224: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ISC/4224
4. Texas Insurance Code (Texas.Public.Law): §4005.053 https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_4005.053; §541.058 https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_541.058; §1806.059 https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.059; §1806.1041 https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.1041; §1806.1541 https://texas.public.law/statutes/tex._ins._code_section_1806.1541
5. Florida Statutes §626.9541 (2026): http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0626/Sections/0626.9541.html
6. North Dakota Century Code ch. 26.1-04 (§26.1-04-06 and §26.1-04-03): https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t26-1c04.pdf
7. Washington Office of the Insurance Commissioner, "Rebating and illegal inducements": https://www.insurance.wa.gov/producers-adjusters/licensing-compliance-financial-examinations/rebating-and-illegal-inducements; and RCW 48.30.150: https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=48.30.150
8. North Carolina G.S. 58-63-16: https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_58/GS_58-63-16.html
9. North Carolina G.S. 58-63-15: https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_58/GS_58-63-15.html; as rewritten by S.L. 2025-45, §6: https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/SessionLaws/HTML/2025-2026/SL2025-45.html; applicability in S.L. 2025-97, §6.11: https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/SessionLaws/HTML/2025-2026/SL2025-97.html
10. IRS Publication 463 (for 2025 returns), ch. 3 "Gifts": https://www.irs.gov/publications/p463
11. USPS, 2026 holiday shipping dates: https://www.usps.com/holiday/holiday-shipping-dates.htm
12. r/InsuranceAgent, "Client Christmas Gift Ideas?!" (2022): https://www.reddit.com/r/InsuranceAgent/comments/z7rr20/
13. r/InsuranceAgent, referral gift tied to a purchase (2024): https://www.reddit.com/r/InsuranceAgent/comments/1dpfq09/
